American Hockey League President and CEO David Andrews has issued the following statement:

“We have spoken with Toronto Marlies management and confirmed that a rules interpretation error by the on-ice officials occurred on the Norfolk Admirals’ overtime goal during Game 3 of the Calder Cup Finals.

“On the play, a dump-in from center ice by a Norfolk player caromed off a stanchion and into the Toronto net. The correct application of AHL Rule 83.4 would have negated the Norfolk goal due to a delayed offside call.

“As AHL By-Laws do not allow for any change to the final result of a game based on an incorrect rule interpretation, the result of the game stands.”

Norfolk’s overtime goal by Mike Kostka gave the Admirals a 1-0 win in Game 3, and a 3-0 series lead in the Calder Cup final. The Admirals have a chance to complete the sweep the series on Saturday at Ricoh Colisum.

Source: TheAHL.com